Animals’ Intelligence and IQ Test

Just because humans (HSs) do not know (and cannot imagine) animals’ abilities, and always judge them by human standards does not mean animals (nHSs) are of lower intelligence. Intelligence is a relative notion. There are many vague definitions of it that can be summarised as:

‘Intelligence is what we measure with intelligence tests’. I’d define intelligence as ‘the understanding of the world, and the ability to adapt to it, think about it and act on it’.

It is (how shall I put it?) *not very clever* to measure animals’ IQ with IQ tests designed for humans. If humans measure their human abilities by the animals’ IQ tests, where will they find themselves – on the borderline? in the region of mild or severe mental retardation? If you want to experience unfairness of IQ tests for yourself and get the idea what it is like to be doomed as an idiot (I mean it as a diagnosis, not as an insult!), try to do the following Animals’ IQ test – non-human animals’ IQ test.

The nHS IQ test

  1. Can you identify the position of a distant object (e.g. 2-3 miles away from you) in relation to the direction of the sun and communicate its location, distance and desirability to your friend via a waggle dance?

Yes: 5

No: 0

  1. Can you see ultraviolet?

Yes: 5

No: 0

  1. In a dark unfamiliar room can you identify the objects under the table?

Yes: 5

No: 0

  1. Using seismic communication (making the ground rumble by stomping on it), can you send a message to your friend who lives 20 miles away from you?

Yes: 5

No: 0

  1. Can you memorise a 9000-mile route across unmarked open terrain after travelling just once?

Yes: 5

No: 0

  1. Take 500 nuts and bury them one by one in 500 holes in a park. How many nuts can you recover after two months (using the method of triangulation, relying on the relative position of trees and buildings, and the angles and distances between these distant landmarks)?

1-10:            1

11-100:       2

101-200:     3

201-400:    4

401-500:    5

  1. Can you predict a seizure in a person 30 minutes before it happens?

Yes: 5

No: 0

________________

Now add your points together and check the nHS IQ:

0-10: severe mental retardation

11-20: average abilities

31-35: higher than average

(Happy with the results?)

Every creature (both human and non-human) has senses/ cognition/ intelligence for their particular world. They have developed very specific abilities necessary for their needs in their environment. (That’s why the results of laboratory experiments should be interpreted with caution; they are not necessarily valid because animals in their natural habitat behave differently from those in artificial environments.) Each animal is intelligent for its own habitat. Cats are good at ‘cat things’ and dogs are doggy in their behaviour. They are all intelligent in their own ways. Can humans boast that they behave ‘humanly’ all the time? Are they smarter than animals while making decisions?

4 thoughts on “Animals’ Intelligence and IQ Test

Add yours

  1. Brilliant post… Thanks very much for the quiz…of course I failed miserably, but then, I am only a human. You should check out my blog…the one titled ‘Why do we hurt Animals.’ I think you’d find the animal communication video on ‘Diabolo’ (a black leopard) getting renamed ‘Spirit’ after a session with a South African human to animal communicator.
    I housesit a lot of animals, and I put my successes down to the fact that I can pick up on how the animals are feeling. It can be challenging when dealing with an angry pet who feels abandoned by its guardians who leave for long trips. I always explain (through thoughts and pictures in my head), where they have gone, how long they will be away and that I will do my best to make life comfortable for them. It works…they understand and settle down quite a bit right away. I don’t really know how it works, but all animals appreciate an explanation of what is happening!

    And if you have time, check out my piece ‘Bee all, End All,’ as I have recorded my most extraordinary experience saving cold bees, who once warmed, help each other!
    A woman once observed me lifting a drowning bee on to my hand and letting it stay there to dry and warm itself before flying away (I do this quite often). “Aren’t you worried that it will sting you?” She had asked, alarmed! I replied that the bee is aware of its rescue and that I have never been stung doing this.
    Intention is everything. Treat an animal as your equal, and you will have a good friend for life!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. There has never been any doubt in my mind that animals … almost all species … are smarter than humans. Animals still listen to their instincts, whereas humans have trained themselves to ignore instincts and have, in fact replaced instinct with such things as a superiority complex. This is why in my next life I am planning to be a wolf.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your comment made me think which animal I’d like to be. A cat? An elephant? An ant? A whale? … After half an hour – still undecided. Each species is interesting in its own right. I’ll keep thinking 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

